University of Witwatersrand Department of Physics

The School of Physics, the largest in the country, engages in internationally competitive research within very diverse fields, some emerging and some established.

Courses Offered

For students who wish to pursue a career in Physics, the usual route is to first obtain a three year BSc majoring in Physics. Each of the three one-year courses build on what was covered during the previous year(s).

Three postgraduate degrees are offered in physics: the MSc and PhD degrees by dissertation, the MSc by coursework and research report, and Honours programme.

READ ALSO :   BS Divers Commercial Diving School

The Rules and Syllabuses booklet for the Faculty of Science contains detailed curriculum information.



Undergraduate applicants

For admissions information, entrance requirements and details on how to apply to Wits, please visit the Student Enrolment Centre website.

Postgraduate applicants

Application information for postgraduate applicants can be found by clicking here. MSc and PhD by dissertation applicants should contact the School before applying to find a supervisor.

Contact Details

Telephone (27 11) 717 6848

READ ALSO :   The South African Musical Theatre Academy Head Office

Fax (27 11) 717 6879