University of KwaZulu Natal Department of Physics

UKZN’s School of Chemistry and Physics is one of five Schools in the College of Agriculture, Engineering and Science. It is located predominantly on the Pietermaritzburg and Westville campuses, with a small Engineering service presence on Howard College.

It has a staff complement of 148 academic and support staff , houses approximately 600 undergraduate students and boasts a postgraduate component of 250, engaged in Honours, Masters, PhD and Postdoctoral research.

Courses Offered


READ ALSO :   Curro Aurora

• Medical Physics: radiation therapy, magnetic resonance imaging

• Geophysics: oil exploration, underground radar and communications

• Materials: micro-electronics, superconductors, diamonds


• Computational Physics: software, simulations

Admission Requirement

Minimum entrance requirements:

• NSC degree pass with Maths, English, Life Orientation and Agricultural Science/ Physical Science/Life Science at level 4 (if you are studying Physics as a degree you will need Maths at level 5). • Admission points required: 28-48 (highest scoring students taken first). • The closing date for applications is 30 September

READ ALSO :   Jabu’s Academy Fashion Design

Application Form


Postgraduate application procedure

*Deadline: closing date September