Sefako Makgatho Health Science University (SMU) – Physiotherapy Studies

BSc Physiotherapy

The degree is a basic four year (4) undergraduate programme which upon completion a graduate register with the Health Professions Council of South Africa (HPCSA) as a physiotherapist.

Admission requirements:

(i) Applicants must be in possession of a Matriculation Exemption Certificate with pass marks in Mathematics, Physical Science, Biology and English on the higher grade with a minimum symbol D.

(ii) Applicants with a National Senior Certificate (NSC), who qualify for a Bachelor’s degree, require the following minimum Admission Point Score (APS) for admission into the programme.

Applicants require the following minimum Admission Point Score (APS)


Life Sciences4
Physical Sciences4
Language of Learning4
Life Orientation4
2 Additional Subjects4=8
Total Points28

Postgraduate Programmes

Master of Science in Physiotherapy

A Master’s degree can obtained either by coursework or research.
Applicants must be in possession of a BSc Physiotherapy Degree and be registered as a physiotherapist with the HPCSA.

PhD Physiotherapy

Applicants must be in possession of a Master’s Degree in Physiotherapy